What are the different FDA recall classifications?

On Behalf of | Jan 27, 2020 | Firm News |

You probably would not think that most of products that you purchase in Weirton could harm you, yet the importance placed on product recalls certain suggests that they can. This is particularly true for products that are designed to be consumed, as their defects can often be manifested once they are in your body. Fortunately, regulatory organizations such as the U.S. Food and Drug Administration provide oversight to help protect you and others from such dangers. 

The FDA regulates close to 80% of all of the food available for consumption in the U.S. On top of that, it oversees other consumer products such as: 

  • Human and animal drugs and vaccines 
  • Medical devices 
  • Blood products 
  • Human transplant tissue 
  • Cosmetics 
  • Animal feed 

Part of the FDA’s mandate is to protect consumers from dangerous or defective products by removing them from the market through recalls. 

How great should your concern be if you discover that you have been using a recalled product? That depends on the classification of the recall. Class I recalls address products whose use could cause serious injury or death. Class II recalls involve products where use could cause medical issues whose effects are treatable and temporary. Products included in a Class III recall are unlikely to cause harm. 

Even with knowing the different recall classifications, you should still treat any such action seriously. Discontinue using the product immediately and follow the instructions regarding its return and disposal. It is also important to remember that even if a company has asked for a recall to be issued, it still may be held liable for any injuries that the product’s use produces.